2018/2019 Announcements

Do you have a child who attends a school in the Lakeside or Druid Hills feeder pattern? Do you want to see improvements in our schools? Do you want to learn what other schools in the cluster and district are doing well? Do you want to build relationships with other parents and school leaders? Then you should consider joining the Emory Lavista Parent Council (ELPC). ELPC is seeking new members of our board for the 2018-2019 term. The time commitment is low but the impact is great! Visit the ELPC website for more information: The ideal candidate can:

Decide Dekalb Board input

Please take a moment to individually contact your county commissioner (or all the commissioners) regarding appointments to the Decide DeKalb Board.

Commissioner Rader has been working to improve the alignment between DeKalb’s countywide development authority (DecideDeKalb), the various municipal development authorities and the public institutions that depend on the property tax base on the issue of tax abatement economic development incentives. One important strategy is to provide seats on the DecideDeKalb Board for DeKalb cities and the DeKalb County School District.

2015 Community Input on S.P.A.C.E.S/E‐SPLOST


DeKalb County School District is requesting community input regarding the SPACES initiative by Friday, December 4. This survey provides the DeKalb community an opportunity to provide input regarding the needs of the school district. These are the same questions that were presented at the community meetings held in late October in each of the five regions. All the data from this survey will be combined with other community input to help shape future E-SPLOST planning.

The DeKalb County School District is holding five (5) regional public input meetings, to discuss and gather information related to its Master Planning of the E‐SPLOST V program. The Building S.P.A.C.E.S. Initiative is an effort to determine how, where, and why future revenues from the ESPLOST V program should be dedicated to the improvement and modernization of our buildings and infrastructure. For more information on the Building S.P.A.C.E.S. Initiative, please visit the DCSD website.

Meetings will be held:

Region 1: Tuesday October 20, 2015 7-9 pm at Chamblee Charter High

Region 5: Thursday October 22, 2015 7:00pm at Columbia High School

Region 4: Monday October 26, 2015 7-9 pm at Miller Grove High School

Region 3: Tuesday October 27, 2015 7-9 pm at Stone Mountain High School

Region 2: Thursday October 29, 2015 7-9 pm at Tucker High School


Parents and Community Members: Over the past eighteen months, the DeKalb County School District has continued to move forward with its intention to obtain charter system status from the Georgia Department of Education. Becoming a charter system will allow the District and its individual schools the opportunity for innovation through flexibility and autonomy from state laws and Georgia Department of Education rules and regulations. It will also promote local school governance through collaboration among parents, teachers, community members, and school Principals.

As a part of this process, community input has been sought over these past eighteen months, and it is being requested again for the current draft of the District’s application. The current draft of the District's Charter System Application is attached at the bottom of this message or can be found on the DCSD home page.

Five community engagement sessions have been scheduled, and anyone seeking the opportunity to provide input is invited to attend, including parents, teachers, and other community members. You are also encouraged to review information from the Georgia Department of Education concerning charter systems.

The Community Engagement Sessions will occur at the following locations:

  • Region V Towers High School Tuesday, September 22 @ 6:00 PM
  • Region I Dunwoody High School Wednesday, September 23 @ 6:00 PM
  • Region IV Lithonia High School Tuesday, September 29 @ 6:00 PM
  • Region III Stephenson High School Wednesday, September 30 @ 6:00 PM
  • Region II Lakeside High School Thursday, October 1 @ 6:00 PM

Past Annoucnement PCU Asks for Superintendent Candidates Selection Committee

The selection of a superintendent to replace Michael Thurmond will be one of most important decisions the DeKalb School Board of Education will make. All citizens in DeKalb County want the very best superintendent candidate to continue to build upon the foundation laid by our recent leadership.

The rationale behind a Candidates Selection Committee of recognized community leaders is three-fold.

2014 Letter to Superintendent Michael Thurmond

Letter to Superintendent Michael Thurmond
From the Board of the Emory LaVista Parent Council

September 2, 2014

Superintendent Michael Thurmond
DeKalb County School District
1701 Mountain Industrial Boulevard
Stone Mountain, GA 30083

Dear Mr. Thurmond:

21013 Press Release: Parent Councils in DeKalb County Unite

May 1, 2013

Contact: Allyson Gevertz

Leaders of all DeKalb Parent Councils Meet

This week, the executive boards of all DeKalb County parent councils met for a parent summit. Leaders of Dunwoody Chamblee Parent Council, Emory LaVista Parent Council, South DeKalb Parent Council, Tucker Parent Council, and Cross Keys Cluster attended the meeting, which was held at the Mary Gay House in downtown Decatur.

2013-2014 Board Nominations

The Nominating Committee would like to propose the following slate for the 2013-2014 ELPC Officers:

Co-President -- Nancy Moore
Co-President -- Allyson Gervertz
Vice President -- Ellen Schwartz
Recording Secretary -- Randi David
Corresponding Secretary -- Julia Byrne
Community Relations Officer -- Lisa Brown

ELPC Board Proposes Changes to Emory LaVista Parent Council By-Laws

The ELPC Board is proposing changes to the By-Laws of the Emory LaVista Parent Council. We feel these changes reflect how the ELPC has grown and changed in recent years and how we can continue to best serve our local community.

2012 - 2013 Nominations

The Nominating Committee would like to propose the following slate for the 2012-2013 ELPC Officers:

Co-President -- Nancy Moore
Co-President -- Allyson Gervertz
Vice President -- Ellen Schwartz
Recording Secretary -- Randi David
Corresponding Secretary -- Julia Byrne
Community Relations Officer -- Lisa Brown
Treasurer -- OPEN

Respectfully submitted,

The 2012 Nominating Committee
Ellen Schwartz, Chair
Beth Laing
David Warlick

Syndicate content